Riverdance Nursing Home

The Winter Waltz

Joe Merkle
2 min readDec 3, 2021
Photo by Yaroslav Shuraev from Pexels

Joe was broken, lonely
Waiting impatiently to die
Carol was seventy going on sixteen
Aging, she refused to comply

Joni was an angel disguised
Her wings hidden from the unseeing
Always dancing, surprised
A puppet of the Supreme Being

Joni prepared a grand scheme destined to succeed
A New Year’s Eve bash she planned
A most decorative winter waltz theme
With all the guests masked

Carol took Joe’s hand, stand she said
He rose from his chair as if floating on air
Danced they did ’til Joe dropped dead
Unmasked, his smile revealed his last affair

© Joe Merkle 2021

Thank you for reading.

I want to once again thank Ravyne Hawke for this wonderful daily prompt and her publication Promptly Written.

If you want to know more about who I am go here.

I hope you have found my writing a joyful experience. You can help others find me by reading and commenting on other stories here.

For less than a measly 2 dimes a day or ($5 monthly) you can become a member of Medium.com. At your fingertips are thousands of articles, poems, and essays written by thousands of writers writing about every subject under the sun. I will get a small commission if you sign up using my link here.

--

--

Joe Merkle

I write about love, life, loss, kindness, and gratitude. Toss in some fiction and humor and you have the meanderings of a multifarious writer.